Hizb module unearthed, 3 arrested in Barmulla: Police

Published at July 17, 2017 12:49 AM 0Comment(s)10560views

4 HM OGWs arrested in Shopian

Hizb module unearthed, 3 arrested in Barmulla: Police


 Security forces have unearthed a module of Hizbul Mujahideen (HM) militant group by arresting three people in north Kashmir’s Baramulla district, police said today.
Baramulla police, assisted by other security forces, busted the module which has been active in the area to lure young boys to militancy, senior superintendent of police (SSP) Baramulla, Imtiyaz Hussain Mir said.
He said the module was being spearheaded by Hizbul commander Parvez Wani alias Mubashir, a resident of Gagloora Handwara in north Kashmir’s Kupwara district.
Three people have been arrested by police – Ansarullah Tantaray, resident of Raipora, Palhalan, Abdul Rashid Bhat, resident of Minipora, Sopore and Mehrajuddin Kak, resident of Andargami, Pattan – all in Baramulla district, Mr Mir said.
He said the module had plans to send many boys to Pakistan on valid visas to get them trained in terror camps of Pakistan-administered Kashmir (PaK).
“One of the accused Abdul Rashid Bhat had visited Pakistan in the month of May this year and obtained training for undertaking militant activities in Khalid bin Waleed camp of HM located in PaK,” he said.
Mir said Bhat got the visa from Pakistani High Commission in New Delhi on the recommendation of a separatist organization.
“Arms, ammunition and Rs one lakh in Indian currency has been recovered from their possession,” he said.
Mir said the module has not only been luring young boys to militancy but providing all logistic support to other terrorists of the group as well.
A case under section 13 of the Unlawful Activities Prevention Act has been registered in Police Station Pattan and investigation has been taken up, he said. He said recently Baramulla Police saved around 10 boys meant to be inducted in militant ranks and handed them over to their parents.
Meanwhile, Police claimed to have arrested four over-ground workers of the Hizb-ul-Mujahideen outfit in south Kashmir's Shopian district who they said were involved in an attack on a Special Police officer last month.
The accused include a police constable, a bank employee and a private school teacher. “Pursuing the investigation of case FIR number 138/2017 under section 307 RPC, 7/27 Arms Act and 16 ULA (P) Act of Police Station Shopian of attack on SPO Khurshid Ahmed in Imamsahab on June 11, 2017, Shopian police has arrested four individuals for their involvement in providing logistic support and participation in the furthering the said criminal act,” reads the statement.
"During the course of investigation, it has [been] revealed that the said attack was carried out by HM outfit based in Shopian."
"One Nazim Nazir Dar on the direction of other HM militants namely Saddam Padder and Irfan Abdullah Ganie, both residents of Heff carried the attack," said a police spokesman.
“Amir Mohidin resident of Heff, working as RE in a bank Chitragam, Constable Towseef Ahmad of Chakoora, Basharat Yusuf Mir resident of Litter, working as private teacher and Iftikar Rather @Jamshed resident of Awneera. After sustained questioning they were arrested and are being investigated for their roles.”

55 MPs to vote in their state assemblies for prez poll: EC
New Delhi: Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and his Goa counterpart Manohar Parrikar are among 55 MPs who will vote in their state assemblies instead of Parliament House for the presidential election tomorrow, an Election Commission document says.
Five MLAs will cast their ballot in Parliament House and four other legislators will vote in state assemblies which they have not been elected to.
Usually, MPs vote in Parliament House and MLAs in their respective state assemblies.

As per rules governing presidential elections, lawmakers can ask the Commission to make an exception to allow them to vote from some other place.
According to the EC document, it has allowed 14 Rajya Sabha and 41 Lok Sabha members to vote in state assemblies instead of Parliament House tomorrow.
These include Parrikar, Adityanath and UP Deputy CM Keshav Prasad Maurya, who have not yet given up their Parliament membership. While Parrikar is a Rajya Sabha member, Adityanath and Maurya are Lok Sabha members.
Most of the MPs who would vote in their respective assemblies belong to the Trinamool Congress.
While MPs will mark their vote on a green-coloured ballot paper, pink-coloured ballot papers will be used for MLAs.
The value of an MLAs vote depends on the population of the state he or she represents. But the value of the vote of an MP does not vary -- it is 708.
Hence, the colour of ballot papers will help the returning officer count votes based on the value. The total value of the electoral college is 10,98,903.




    Leave a Reply

    Back To Top